In order for any work of art – for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song – to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

From my perspective, there is no correlation between the merit of art and whether it can be understood by most people.

To begin, many masterpieces are far ahead of their time and thus are impossible to be understood by the average people. Most people do not attain much training towards the appreciation of art, and accordingly prefer more conventional art rather than experimental art of great artistic value. Take A Story of an Hour, a novel written by Kate Chopin as an example. The novel is about a wife experiencing awakening and feeling a sense of freedom as well as ecstasy after knowing her husband’s death. But because this book was published in the 19th century when women were suppressed by the male dominance, Kate Chopin was criticized a lot and had to reedited the novel. Human beings are very limited in understanding the world by the epoch they live in, and standards about the merit of an art have changed all the time. Therefore, it is impossible to require the average people to understand high art, and that is why many brilliant movies won Golden Palm could not achieve good box office.

In addition, true artists create art pieces are not to make profit but to express themselves - feelings, conception of the world, and philosophical ideas. Like what Martin Scorsese said in 2019, “Hollywood blockbusters are just theme parks with no artistic values,” there are diverse opinions towards cinema as an industry or cinema as an art form. Directors of Hollywood movies produce movies to drive audience’s attention and to make money, while those brilliant directors including Truffaut and Larz Von Trier, produce movies to express their own attitude towards the world and do not care whether the audience can understand or appreciate their works. For example, although The House That Jack Built directed by Larz Von Trier in 2019 was criticized a lot for its violence and aloofness, the director himself did not mind about those criticizes and stated that he did not want to please or impress the audience.

Finally, the true merit of arts lies in whether they can evoke sympathy of the audience. De Quincey wrote in the article “The Literature of Knowledge and the Literature of Power” that work like newton’s, belonging to the literature of knowledge, gives access to the hidden truths of nature, while the function of the literature of power, say, Paradise Lost written by Milton, is to move and speaks to the higher understanding through affections of pleasure and sympathy. And that is the true merit of arts distinguished from illustrations, pop music, reference book, or commercial films. Cinemas directed by Jia Zhang-Ke, for example, do not use a lot of fancy special effects, but give audience a direct picture about the most common individuals’ life, their sufferings and joys. Although they cannot provide the audience more knowledge like documentaries, but can strengthen their consciousness of a mysterious residuum of human nature.

In a nutshell, the merit of an art piece has nothing to do with whether most people can understand or not.