In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

With the growth of the modern education system, the ideology of becoming well-rounded individuals is ubiquitous. What criterion should be given more weight to assessing the efficient method of cultivating well-rounded individuals? Some claim that all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature, which may be plausible at a cursory glance. Nevertheless, this above view has merit, I argue that it is in fact ill-conceived at all. The reasons are stated as follows.

To begin with, I must express appreciation to the view of encouragement of widening knowledge for all college students. The students who take the art course and literal course will no doubt enhance their knowledge and improve their capabilities of humanity area. All these social science courses related to art and literature will bring the students to think more about the society.

On the contrary, it is dangerous to abide by the side of the view that all students have to take the courses of art and literature. Students in different departments have different major courses which will forge them to be a specialist in a different area. Most of the major courses are not easy to pass without hard work on it. For these students who have limited capabilities to handle with their major course, it definitely will bring big troubles for them if extra art and literature courses are compulsory to them. If they failed in their major courses after spent much time on art and literature course, the result biases the initial purpose and will impair the students' future.

That being said, tenable the assertion may hold in most circumstances, I would like to suggest giving options for the college students to make choices on their own. If college students can manage their time and energy to balance the art and literature courses with the major course after evaluating their capabilities, they will benefit from the art courses. To provide the various choices to all students, rather than an obligation for them, is the best method to mold the college students to become well-rounded individuals.

To sum up, in modern society and the education system, well-rounded individuals are welcome by society. As for how and what will adopt to realize this purpose, I reserve my approval for the idea that college students should be requested to take courses in art and literature course, which is dogmatic and will bring unpredictable results for these limited capabilities students. Providing the option for the students to choose is the best way for colleges and universities.