In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of the utility of literature in colleges. Indisputably, the imaginative literature courses which include poetry, novels and other kinds are beneficial for the students as are necessary for their cultivation as mature people. Nevertheless, the available time for the format of a demanding educative curriculum is precious and should be exploited accordingly, by giving emphasis to more academic disciplines. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that all college students should be forced to take courses relative to imaginative literature in order to become well-rounded people.

First of all, it is truth that colleges should apply a demanding curriculum in order to fulfill their primary task which is of course the formation of well-educated students who are galvanized with right values. Imaginative literature is partially meets this demand, yet its share on the whole process is minor to the academic progress of a student. Due to the fact that every hour in curriculum is crucial, the courses of a college should focus on more strict academic lessons as Physics. Everyone should admit that Physics is essential tool to understand basic functions of our routine like the tribe in the tires of the car. Thus, the courses in a Physics lab instead of a course in poetry, they will be more beneficial for the students in order to become well-rounded individulas.

On the other hand, literature is an academic pathway that certainly enhances the imagination and evoke the feelings. Moreover, it cultivates students’ inclination for culture and art which are necessary I our lives. For example, the teaching of Greek mythology in a class would promote the interest of students to study and learn about ancient Greek history and civilization which is the foundation of the modern European culture.

In conclusion, despite the fact that imaginative literature is beneficial for sudents’ progress, I would argue that there are more important and educative courses like Maths,Physics or Chemistry which are essential in order the colleges to deliver well-educated mature people in the society.