In order to help small business thrive , the government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

I disagree with the above statement , Small business are the ones which do not have enough capital, personnel and resources and often find it difficult to compete in the modern world with ever-changing technology. Government interference can help them to accelerate and give them the opportunities and resources to bring them at the level of competitiveness.

First of all, after knowing how the small business functions and what is the obstacles looming on their way, government can give their capital and resources at subsidized rates. For example In India, small scale industries lagging behind financially,and government are providing them loans at very low interest rates.

Secondly, Government can provide them raw materials at low rates to increase their revenue and boosting their growth. They can also purchase directly from them the final products they manufacture and thus creating a ready-made market .

For example –In India, government directly purchase the grains that the farmers are producing at high rates.

Thirdly , After dissection of the various policies and the hurdles they are facing, government can render solutions for it. They can form effective policies and rules and regulations if they found that there is undue hegemony of the large scale industries. For example – In India , certain % are reserved for the small scale industries as there is little representation of them in the economy. Another example is the setting up of the minimum price for the small scale produce to protect them from exploitation.

However government interference in the private matters should be limited and does not affect the autonomy and the major decisions of the small scale business . It should not create any unnecessary paper work and regulations for them as it will result in decreasing their productivity.

Thus limited government interference will provide them with support they are lacking and help them to expand and increase their business.