In order to obtain knowledge about self mind we have to discard familiarity

To say that, in order to obtain knowledge about self or inner mind we have to discard the familiarity is the best thing, and I do some what agree with the following statement.

We live in the complicated world, where everything has changed a lot. A person can never learn, unless they get out of their comfort zone, and do something with their life. The world isn't the same place as it used to be few hundred years ago, there are different things erected and different things build through out the world and to get the knowledge about those things we do have to reject the familiar things. A guitarist can never learn to play good music, when he or she is not better connected with this world.

A person is prohibited to learn anything about himself- unless he goes beyond the familiarity or same things. Einstein- a greatest physicist of 20th century, learned about different things from diving in the unknown and went to erect new ideas when he went far from familiarity and stepped into a way to find out the self knowledge. His ideas were novice and he went on to be the architect of the modern physics. As, Einstein we do have many examples who went through different experiences rejecting unfamiliarity and gaining the self knowledge- which is much esteemed in this modern world.

But there are some few exceptions, here in order to get out of the circle of familiarity, you do have to learn different familiar things, to become a great painter first step is you do have to learn firstly about the paintings or the familiar things. So a complete rejection of familiarity is a bad thing and will not be completely helpful for the beginners.

So, a person has to reject familiarity in order to dive down to the best, because following a line might deter us to be the best and to gain self knowledge.