Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

What is original? Is it something that is completely new or is it something that is just putting old ideas in a new form. There is not a single definition of original that can encompass the depth of the meaning contained in this word. Like base of the pyramid is the most important part to support the structure above it. Similarly, I believe, unique idea is essential part for other innovations to happen. Hence, originality can defined as something derived from old stuff or can be a creation that is never thought before. I disagree with the definition given by the author which highlights only a small aspect of the meaning. To advocate this viewpoint, some examples will be presented in the passage below.

In my opinion, originality also means unwrapping some mystery and coming up with unique thoughts. Let me embellish this point. We all know how propulsion technology has revolutionized the world of satellite launch. According to the author, propulsion technology is not an original creation, but I contradict this point. I do not think that satellite can be launched without this technology. Furthermore, propulsion is a true original technology and is not merely an amalgam of some ideas put together in some fashionable form. It is something new and innovative. Hence, I believe that coming up with new stuff also constitutes as an originality.

As an illustration, we can also see example of Facebook and other social networks. These ideas aptly fits into the definition mentioned by the author as existing idea helped in development of these new websites. Hence, I think it is irrefutable that novel ideas are required for further development and innovation. I am not denying that new social networks are not original, they are original. In other words, it is important to realize that initial true ideas of social networks are also part of definition of originality.

In addition to the above mentioned examples, I believe that there are other places where humankind have come up with new things by not just putting some stuff together in a cutting edge way. I love internet and it is the most important part of everyone's life. Internet in its raw form was invented as ARPANET, but nowadays, everyone uses a modified version ARPANET. Present state is merely a new form of old idea. Without ARPANET, which is a true originality, it would not have been possible. For this reason, we need to widen the scope to get true essence of originality. Restricting it to one liner or confining to some limits would not help. Author's definition is very eccentric and fails to grasp the true essence of Originality.

It is apparent by now that originality can be using old ideas and coming putting them differently or coming up with new groundbreaking things. I disagree with the definition mentioned in the statement.