Peers can have an influence on the behavior of a child. This influence can be negative or positive. Is peer pressure mostly beneficial? Why or why not?

A man is known by the company he keeps. Children’s behavior is easily affected by people around them, especially their close friends. Proponents say that a child can better develop thanks to their peer pressure, whereas the opponents claim it to be harmful as the child learn bad behaviors. From my perspective, I do believe that pressure from peers mostly beneficially influences a child’s manner because he can learn his friends’ good aspects and compete to be the most outstanding among the group.

First of all, various great attributes from friends can be elicited to learn. Each member in a group usually has a different background, which leads to different standpoints on the same matter. Instead of experiencing that problem, which may be hazardous, a child can just listen to his friends’ stories and compare them to his one to come up with a conclusion for himself. This can still apply even the child gets older. Since I came to the university, I have learned a lot from my friends such as skills, learning tools, points of view, all of which I often do not have time to self-experience.

Besides, peer pressure encourages competitiveness among a companion group. Competitiveness has proved to be one of the noteworthy means for development. Children’s ego nowadays is stronger compared with that in the past; therefore, fair competitiveness seems to be an indispensable element for a child to develop. This has been proved by the actual commercial state. Due to the fact that enterprises investing in the same industry need to always apply the up-to-date features to their production or marketing campaigns in order to make them outstanding, which ones are opinionated will gradually straggle.

Some critics of peer pressure argue that children learn bad manners better than good ones. In their view, children are so naive that they cannot differentiate between good and bad behaviors. In other words, a child behaves what he observes frequently. While it may be true that companion pressure has the capacity to make the child negatively develop, we should not draw the conclusion that he should avoid friendships as a result. Educational experts have stated that the most determining factor in the behavioral growth of a child is his family, the closest to him. In other words, whoever a child gets into the companionship with, his behaviors can still positively develop if his family nurture him appropriately.

All in all, engaging in peer pressure has important merits. It can help a child easily learn good lessons without taking risks and fairly compete for better development. Parents should encourage both companionship and peer pressure to get their children well-prepared for their future.