Forests produce fresh oxygen and participate in regulating climate. But every year tree cover of our planet is lessening due to deforestation. What are the primary causes of deforestation? To what results may it lead?

Forests are lungs of the Earth, which means they help generate oxygen from carbon dioxide and balance the climatic conditions. However, it is obvious that forests have been cutting down annually for manifold purposes. Some rationales can be put forward to explain this trend which leads to severe impacts on nature.

To begin with, there are two principal reasons why the number of trees is decreasing. The first cause is overpopulation. Since 1800, the population has gone up from 1 billion to 7.8 billion, which entails the significant demands for cutting down trees for living spaces. Besides, agriculture activities also contribute to the decline of forest areas. The growing population needs more and more food to run their lives, so they need more land for cultivation and livestock ranching. According to the Food and Agriculture Organization, agriculture has led to around 80% of deforestation.

The consequences for nature will be seriously inevitable if forests keep falling down giving room for humans’ living. From the perspective of climate, deforestation exacerbates the global warming crisis. It is estimated that loss of forest accounts for around 20 percent of greenhouse gas emission, and merely tropical deforestation annually releases 1.5 billion tons of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. What is of equal seriousness is wildlife extinction. It would be tough for natural inhabitants to survive in the long term as the ecosystem is being severely affected. A study of Brazilian Amazon forecasts that 90 percent of extinctions will occur in the next 40 years.

All in all, causes can be identified for the forest loss, and the serious impacts on nature must not be underestimated. Therefore, we need to take actions to minimize the consequences to bring the brighter future for the next generations.