Forests produce fresh oxygen and participate in regulating climate. But every year tree cover of our planet is lessening due to deforestation. What are the consequences of deforestation? What solutions could be taken?

Forests are lungs of the Earth, which means that they help generate oxygen from carbon dioxide and balance the climatic condition. However, it is obvious that forests have been cutting down annually for manifold purposes. Because this trend could lead to some detrimental impacts on nature, measures should be enacted to mitigate those potential problems.

To begin with, there are two reasons why deforestation is considered a crisis. From the perspective of climate, it exacerbates the global warming woes. Researchers have proved that loss of forest accounts for 20 percent of greenhouse gas emission, and merely tropical deforestation annually releases 1.5 billion tons of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. What is of equal seriousness is wildlife extinction. It would be tough for wild species to survive in the long term while their natural habitats are being significantly diminished. A study of Brazilian Amazon forecasts that 90 percent of extinctions will occur in the next 40 years.

However, several actions by both the governments and civilians could be taken to eradicate the aforementioned problems. Firstly, the authorities should ratify laws to justify the deforestation rate. In other words, government regulations should be passed to prohibit clear-cutting of forests and curb the total depletion of forest cover in parallel. Moreover, everyone in societies should increasingly encourage products from forest-friendly companies. For example, L’Oreal, Hershey and Unilever are some sustainable deforestation-free brands that should be prioritized when deciding to purchase a product.

In brief, ample measures could be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as the area of forests is being remarkably diminished. If people in out community take actions together, there will be a brighter future for our next generations.