In some countries, a high proportion of criminal acts are committed by teenagers. Why has this happened? What effects does this lead to?

Today, youth crime is rife. Theft, burglary or even murder are now committed by people of younger and younger ages. The aim of this essay is to investigate the factors responsible for the increase in juvenile delinquency and the negative impacts on those teenagers and their parents.

To begin with, there are two primary rationales behind this trend. Firstly, it is observed that extreme behaviors are exhibited by most children from dysfunctional families. There is a direct correlation between the lack of engagement in educational activities and serious criminal offending in children. Without the supervision from parents or caregivers, children befriend with antisocial peers and gradually copy their undoing such as aggression, hostility or defiance. Secondly, the media also plays an enormous role in shaping children’s criminality. For example, games such as Grand Theft Auto and Half-life can desensitize younger players to extreme acts of violence and cruelty, encouraging them to commit crimes while giving them the impression that it is morally acceptable to do so.

Consequently, several severe impacts on those children’s families are inevitable if this trend is still going on. From the perspective of the juvenile, their perceptive development will be disrupted that they will become selfish and insensitive. In their mind, it is all about violence and crimes, which makes them neither realize nor care that their actions are hurting so many people, including their own family. In terms of the parents, their child’s committing crimes seems to be their worst nightmare. They are the ones who have to directly face the law enforcement, and they are so ashamed with the fact their child is a criminal that they cannot bear everyone’s look given to them.

All in all, various reasons can be put forward to explain this woe and its negative consequences should not be underestimated. Therefore, we need to take actions together so that we can bring a brighter future for the world’s security.