Many young people now know more about international pop and movie stars than famous people in the history of their countries. What are the causes? Give solutions to increase the number of people to know about famous people in history

It is undeniable that youngsters nowadays tend to be indifferent to their countries’ famous historical individuals, but more familiar with popular pop and movie stars worldwide instead. There are many rationales behind this noticeable trend, and measures could certainly be taken to gain the awareness of famous people in history among the young.

To begin with, there are two primary reasons explaining this tendency. Firstly, History at schools is taught superficially. Many educational systems assume that History is a side-subject, which leads to an unchangedly tedious method of conveying the knowledge. Therefore, the students have lost their interest in such an important subject, and specifically in 2015, there was only one candidate in Nghe An province attending the History test for the university entrance examination. Secondly, it is recent advanced mass media. Thanks to the advancement of technology, we can immediately update the events occurring, especially the news of the super stars. Their images appear frequently in the community, so people are undoubtedly easier to know them.

Some measures could be taken by the schools and authorities to mitigate the problem caused by the aforementioned reasons. From the educational perspective, there should be an evolution of History’s pedagogical method. Students are much easier to acquire the tedious knowledge when they are provided with intriguing lessons to realize that History, to a great extent, has a value for their life. In terms of the governments, authorities should anually organize the commemoration for the significant contribution of the historical luminaries to the development of the countries.

All in all, various measures could be taken to gain the young’s recognition of the national historical luminaries. Therefore, they will strive not to waste those people’s great effort.