Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main effects of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

It is true that although ample major metropolises worldwide have been significantly developing, they still register a rise in rough-sleeping. This leads to manifold consequences to both the homeless and social security, which requires measures to be taken to mitigate those problems.

To begin with, as aforementioned, homelessness can cause damages to many aspects. From the perspective of the rough-sleepers themselves, they may submit to severe mental conditions, especially if they had a wonderful life before. The gap between their former lifestyle and their current one may be so big that they are likely to suffer from depression and other considerable mental issues. Beside that, social security cannot be perfectly guaranteed. As the homeless often do not have adequate required papers, they lose their claims to receive financial aid to afford their living, which, consequently, usually entails crime commitment such as burglary and theft.

However, several measures could be enacted to tackle those matters. Firstly, a simple remedy could be easy access to social security. In other words, the governments should set a framework where it is a human right to have social security, at least to a level that is enough to provide housing, food and other necessities for daily life. Secondly, more homelessness exit programs should be conducted. They encourage both the authorities and sponsors to be engaged in to help the needy soon get back to their normal life. For example, there are many popular humane programs to help those vulnerable individuals in Vietnam such as “Overcome the obstacles” and “Dream houses”.

In brief, various remedies can be taken to eradicate the problems that are certain to arise as homelessness crisis is worsening. If people in our community take actions together, there will be a brighter future for equal global development.