Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what effects does it cause?

It is true that although ample major cities worldwide have been significantly developing, they still register a rise in rough-sleeping. There are many a rationale behind this problem which leads to some negative effects on both the homeless and social security.

To begin with, two principal reasons can be put forward to explain this matter. Firstly, it is for natural disasters. Humanity has witnessed loads of environmental catastrophes such as earthquakes, typhoons and tornadoes, all of which severely destroy not only the natural environment but also the infrastructure. If those spheres of influence do not have appropriate actions, the victims will be left homeless. What is of equal importance is that the number of rough-sleepers also increases due to system failures. For example, the failure of supporting immigrants and refugees requires those vulnerable individuals to turn to the homelessness sector.

As aforementioned, both the rough-sleepers and social security will be seriously affected if this woe keeps worsening. From the perspective of the homeless themselves, they may submit to severe mental conditions if they had a wonderful life before. The gap between their former lifestyle and their current one may be so big that they are likely to suffer from depression and other considerable mental issues. Beside that, social security cannot be perfectly guaranteed. As the homeless often do not have adequate required papers, they lose their claims to receive financial aid to afford their living. Consequently, this problem usually entails crime commitment which is often burglary or theft.

All in all, some grounds can be identified for the increasing homelessness crisis and the serious impacts of it on the health and society status must not be underestimated. Therefore, we need to take actions to limit its consequences to bring a brighter future for the equally global development.