In some countries around the world men and women are having children late in life. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

It is true that adults worldwide nowadays tend to postpone their parenthood until late in their life. There are some reasons which can be put forward to explain this trend, and there are significant impacts on both society and family life.

There are two obvious reasons why people choose to delay their time to have children. Firstly, the costs of living are noticeably increasing. Young adults, who are just new to their jobs, usually struggle to earn enough for their living. This, therefore, is one of the contributing factors for the choice of having babies late because parents need an amount of money to nurture their offsprings. Secondly, workplace commitment also hinders the parenthood. As being new to the jobs, young adults need to strive to impress their employers and get promotion, which leads to such little time that they cannot spend with their children.

The consequences for family life and society will be negatively inevitable if this trend is till going on. From the perspective of family, daily life seems to be monotonous if it lacks naive laughter from the children. Furthermore, women are advised not to give birth late so that they can avoid some health issues later and the babies can grow up better. In terms of the society, late birth giving cannot deal with the recent population aging. For instance, the Japanese authorities have taken many measures to increase the birth rate as they are facing a serious problem that the young tend not to give birth due to their busy life schedule.

All in all, some reasons can be identified for the decline of birth rate among young adults, and the serious impacts on family life and society must not be underestimated. Therefore, measures need taking to minimize the negative consequences.