As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to

think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Is Google making us stupid? Technology does not infringe the ability of human beings to think of themselves. It improves it and makes us more efficient.

Technology is not making us more stupid but more efficient. Nowadays, we are not constrained by the physical distance to the next library to do research but can access various media through our laptop. Adding to that, search-engines improved our efficiency in finding the desired information by applying algorithms that help us to sort the vast information and distinguish the important form the superfluous data. Google, for example, does not substitute the thinking behind the human input into the search engine. It neither takes over the review of search results. However, it helps us to skim through the accessible knowledge and focus on the source that might matter to me. The following deep-reading and critical analysis of the source and whether it was the one I was looking for is not outsourced to technology but has to be done by me. Thus, technology is a strong aide and ally but, in consequence, does not make us more stupid.

Secondly, technology can make our lives simpler and easier. Imagine the time, when no one had a washing machine. Traditionally, the woman of the household had to do all the washing, which could take hours or even days, depending on the size of the family. With the invention and later the mass production of the washing machine, washing could be done in minutes, leaving the whole day for self-fulfilment. The invention of this machine gave the housewives leisure and time to do things they actually loved to do. It empowered women all around the world and engendered emancipation. Technology, in this case, improved the ability of a large part of the population to think - because it was the first time they had time to educate themselves further, engage in the public life, enter vivid discussions and follow their own interests.

However, there are certain tendencies towards laziness that could be attributed to technology. As previously states, search-engines can make our quest for a certain information more efficient. Nevertheless, having the ability to enter a question into the mobile device and get an immediate answer could lead to a deterioration of our own ability to think critically and trying to answer questions through debate and deduction instead of asking the internet straight away. Therefore, technology, to a certain extent, could be a contributor to the laziness of thinking.

There are multiple reasons why the accusation that technology will lead to a diminishment of our ability to think is overdrawn. Technology can improve our daily life and help us to be more efficient, leaving more time to think critically and reflect. Technological development has brought our society to a point where information is accessible to anyone, making everybody able to learn and educate themselves. Technology gave us innovations that left the whole society better of.