Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

The task of researchers and scientists is to generate knowledge and, therefore, contribute to the wellbeing of a society. One important factor that any scientist should take into account when deciding upon its research focus is its relevance. As it will be shown from a utilitarian point of view, this relevance is given by benefitting the greatest number of people.

First of all, the benefiting the greatest amount of people increases the welfare of the whole society. From a utilitarian point of view, any action is justifiable that reaches this goal. This is closely linked to the conception of utility. In a society, everybody is equal and, thus, should be given equal preferences. Any action, and therefore also the decision of a scientist’s research focus, should be guided by the principle that the utility of the society must be increased. The individual utilities, in consequence, are added and the group with the largest utility selected. Improving the utility of the group will automatically improve the welfare and wellbeing of the whole society. This implies that minorities are only a secondary concern. For example, should a scientist in Switzerland rather put his or her research efforts into cancer treatment or a rare genetic disease? Taking into account that the number of deaths in Switzerland connected to cancer is much higher than the number of deaths resulting from the genetic disease, focusing on the cancer treatment will benefit more people than curing the genetic disease. Therefore, by adding and comparing the utilities of the two groups, one can infer that the utility of the whole society will be improved by focusing on the cancer treatment, which is the larger of the two groups. Following from this, the scientist must focus on the research that provides the most value to the largest possible group.

Secondly, focusing on a relevant topic will provide the scientist with more potential funding than studying a tangential subject. Scientist are funded by national institutions like the Swiss National Fund but also private organization like Cancer Foundation Switzerland. Therefore, it will be easier to find the means to realize a study if it benefits a great number of people. On a national level, the scientist following utilitarian principles is more likely to receive state funding because politicians care about their constituents and the large masses. In the private sector, the utilitarian academic has access to a larger variance of foundations and corporations than the scientist that focuses on a seemingly irrelevant topic of society. Receiving more funding will increase the quality of a study substantially because more complex, time-intensive and resourceful experiments can be executed. This again improves the welfare and utility of the whole society.

Of course, applying such a utilitarian view inherently overlooks the concerns of minorities. It is biased towards the large masses and willingly accepts the fact that smaller groups of people are ignored. However, the utilitarian theory does not exclude the concerns of the minority. It simply gives preference to the majority in a first step, which does not mean that secondary concerns are not respected in the future.

Applying a utilitarian view and measure the actions of scientists on the possible consequences for the whole society justifies to focus on the interest of the greatest number of people. Following the principle of equality and utility will lead to an overall improvement of the welfare of society and guarantees the relevance of the research topic. In addition to that, research that is backed by a broad and general interest is more likely to receive the necessary funding. This improves the overall quality of the scientific study and maximizes a society’s utility. Following from this, it is cardinal that scientists focus on maximizing the greater good.