Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

In order to be a good politician, it is imperative to be able to find common ground with other parties and work on a consensus that is supported by as many voters as possible. Finding a common ground is often more effective and sustainable in the long run because it includes the opinions of minorities, which is crucial for a functioning democracy. Therefore, holding on to elusive ideals can build walls rather than bridges.

A politician is most of all a representative of his or her constituents and carries, therefore, the responsibility of integrating their wishes and opinions into policies. However, since a democracy is characterized by heterogeneity, it is necessary to debate, engage in the public sphere and find common ground, despite ideological differences. It is crucial in a modern state that politicians are able to compromise and respect other opinions. For example, Switzerland’s political institutions are based on compromising. There is not one president that represents the people as it is the reality in most other western states like France or Germany, but there are seven presidents from four different parties, called the Federal Council. Their decisions are based on negotiating agreements that are founded on a middle-ground basis. Those trade-offs between personal ideology and consensus-oriented policies proofed to be crucial for the prodigious wealth, political stability and  well-fare Switzerland has accumulated during the last decades.

Secondly, holding on to ideals rather than common sense and realpolitik can be an obstacle for political integration and productivity and future-oriented policies. Tenaciousness in regards to ideology can lead to fault lines that become so entrenched that the political apparatus becomes unable to function. For instance, ideological reasoning, and on this account religion and religious values are also regarded as an ideal, has had a negative effect on American politics. The religious right and the tea-party movement dogmatized the view on religion and subverted the Republicans. In consequence, they moved the Republicans more to the right, which lead to a rigidly conservative view. Following from this, the tea-party movement, following their religious agenda, polarized the two parties – one party with a liberal view and on the other end a party that claimed the moral and religious superiority for themselves. Neither Democrats nor Republicans have the ability nor the will to build a bridge between the two ideologically polarized parties and slowed down the political process in the House of Representatives as well as in the Senate. In American politics nowadays, ideals have become dogmatic and are obfuscating the view on pragmatic solutions. Thus, aberrations from the idealist hard-line could bridge the gap between politicians with differing ideals. In addition to that, holding on to elusive ideals can cause a disconnection from the political, economic and societal realities of the voters. This distance, in the long-run, is for any politician a dead-end.

However, it is not to the intention that ideals are not important in politics. They are the moral compass, which every politician needs. Otherwise, he or she would not be trustworthy since there is not ideological red line that is guiding the politician. A elected politician without an underlying ideal can easily become a lose bullet, acting against all he stood for while running for office. Hence, an ideology should act like a road-sign at a cross-road, which is a helpful orientation in many occasions. As an example, the ideal of individual freedom and the freedom of expression can guide a politician when he has to decide whether they want to restrict internet-access to certain webpages, like online-gambling, to protect the consumer instead of focusing on the individual freedom to put their money where their individual preferences are. Here, an ideal can serve as a compass to find a position, which is consistent with the basic ideal but leaves room for common sense and finding a middle ground. However, an ideal should never become a dominant force that blocks political institutions from working.

Thus, those politicians who always argue with their ideals and a higher moral force are ignoring the political realities and the basic foundations a democracy is built on, which is consensus, respecting minorities and the ability to compromise. Ideologies and ideals often become dogmatic, which is dangerous and can lead to a stalemate. Success stories like Switzerland show that compromising and finding common ground can be implemented in institutions, leading to a healthy and political system. An ideal should rather be a moral compass that can help to adhere to certain values, but it should never become dogmatic. More than anything, it is a premise that politicians are able to understand different positions and look for commonalities in the political opponent. This, even though often not reflecting the own conviction, it the best option for a greater good.