As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human beings are largely dependent on technology is no secret. Mankind has always strived to improve and upgrade their living conditions. But has this need for comfort has made us completely dependent on technology that we it will eventually destroy our thinking capability? The simple answer is "NO". To elaborate this idea let us look into the various factors associated with it.

We are today surrounded by technology. Even the smallest of a task, like brushing our teeth, can be done easily and effectively by an electric toothbrush. A trivial object like an electric toothbrush is an innovation that has resulted from mankind's desire for something better than what we already have. Scientists are working day and night to provide the rest of the world with discoveries and inventions that helps us in our everyday life. Take for example, the World Wide Web, which made sharing of information throughout the globe a very simple and quick feat. People from all over the world are able to communicate, share knowledge, host businesses and keep abreast about the latest update just by tapping a few keys. The internet is just one the many examples of technology that has helped us to carry out tasks in much more efficient manner. The primary purpose of any invention is to improve the current state, achieve the desired task in much lesser time and/or find solutions to complex-intricate problems. If a technology is not used to its fullest potential, what is the purpose of such a technology? In summary, the reliance on technology should not be viewed in a negative light completely.

The other aspect of the given issue that people will end up deteriorating their thinking ability, is a bit of an overstatement. Science and technology go hand in hand and have been with us from the beginning of mankind. Be it the Homo sapiens hunting tools, the invention of the wheel or the polio vaccine. History proves that humans have never stopped their research for a better future. This in turn proves that dependency on technology has not hampered with the thinking capability of human beings. Some might argue that only the erudite and experts from the scientific field are the people who are racking their brains to come up with all the new technology and thus the common man is only enjoying the final outcome which in turn leads to dependence on technology and ultimately reduction of one's mental aptitude. In such case, it is necessary to understand that a man's thinking, reasoning and questioning is not limited to only technological fields. A businessman who is dependent on his cellphone for contacting various clients, has to do the real work of explaining his products and persuading the client for making a deal. People are indeed relying more and more on technology to solve problems, but that is only so that they can concentrate on much bigger and important issues.

To conclude, it would be farfetched to assume humans might end up degrading their thinking ability with increased reliance on technology to solve problem. Humans in all categories of field (like science, medicine, education, art, politics) are always trying to advance, grow and improve irrespective of the dependency on technology.