People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is hard to define behavior in a particular sentence. There are various definitions defining behavior, but in general, behavior is the way in which people react towards the situation built up around their surroundings. People develop their behavior depending on the way they have been brought up in society, their environment and families. It is true that the behavior of people is determined by external elements but, we human are the intelligent species in animal kingdom which have the liberty to behave in a particular manner towards the situation around us. It is unjustified to blame external factors totally for the people’s behavior however there are internal factors which react in a particular situation rather than external factor.

Firstly, we, human beings grow in a particular environment or societies since our childhood days. Our way of approaching towards the situation depends upon the conditions around us i.e. our way of talking, listening as well as thinking depend upon the people influences around us but the decision to react upon the particular situation is our own instinct or the way of liberty of thought. For instance, it is a general truth that people do things which influences them. Likewise, a football player generally copies the plans of their icon player how they do exercise, practice in the field and their dietary plans. But, the performance in the game the player generally develops his own tactic to be successful in the game. Similarly, students are particularly influence by the erudite people around them, but when they prefer to choose the subject they decide according to their own will and their self-interest.

Secondly, it is true that positive energy enthusiasts people to do positive work in the surrounding. However, there are criminal minded person in the society who generally do crimes according to their self- interest and their behavior are not affected by the rules and regulations of the societies as well as harsh punishment decided by the society upon these illegal acts. For example- If a person is motivated to do heinous crime and generally do crime although there is a provision of hang in the constitution if somebody found doing illegal acts in the society. Such harsh punishment even does not prohibit them doing macabre crime.

However, sometimes it is true that people behave according to the external wills and the rules and regulations of the society. For instance, some countries have strict fines for the reckless throwing of garbage in the street. The people of that country follow such rules strictly and deposit garbage in garbage bags or dustbin. But, when they visit other country in which there is no strict rules regarding throwing of garbage irresponsibly. They generally react in the same way as that of people of that country and throw garbage without any hesitation. Similarly, people living in certain part of the country wear dress according to their own customs and tradition. When they shift to other cities areas, they are influence by the environment of the cities areas and wear clothes according to the fashion in the cities.

In conclusion, it is true that people behavior come upon the environment in which they live but when to decide upon the particular situation the liberty of thought comes to play and finally his/ her instinct plays a major role to react upon the situation rather than external factors.