People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Humans are nothing but slaves of our past.” This famous english proverb highlights the passive thinking that humans have developed over the years. In fact this thought forms the very basis of behavioural and psychoanalysis schools of thought in psychology. However, I mostly disagree with this stance. There is no doubt that there are forces in childhood and adult life as well, which influence our comportment but, human behaviour is much more robust and independent to be totally a slave of unseen forces. I argue this for 2 reasons to be exact.

First and foremost, if people’s behaviour is largely a result of constrains posed by childhood instances and daily life events then creativity and individuality have been nothing but mirage of ocean in a hot dessert. Therefore, those who believe that nothing is under their control tend to become pessimistic and sluggish over time; leaving the reins of their life on the phrase “go with the flow,” Such thinking is detrimental for the society and individual growth. It leads to a fallacy prone thinking where there’s always an unforeseen and uncontrollable cause of the behaviour.

Second, if behaviour is a result of drives not in handle of humans then, the act of living itself loses its meaning and thus, we all are just existing like puppets in the hands of a puppeteer. However, such is not the case. For instance, in 1940s when Hitler overtook Germany and started executing Jews in concentration camps; all but hope was left. In this pessimistic environment, Viktor Frankl maintained his optimistic behaviour and hope of reuniting with his family. This independent thinking of self in own control led to him being the only survivor in his family apart from his sister.

Therefore, while it is tempting to believe that our behaviour is not in our hands; it is not but an excuse to pardon our wrong behaviour.