People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The psyche of understanding human behavior is a complex one; there are actions and thoughts which even the most researched scholar of psychology might not be able to guess or explain. Moreover, in its 100 years of history psychology has not been able to come up with a single paradigm to explain human behaviour. These discrepancies highlight the difficulty of understanding, predicting and explaining human behaviour. The prompt takes the position of undetermined forces influencing a person’s actions. However, I do not agree with this suggestion. There are few reasons for that.

First and foremost, there is no doubt that human behavior at a microlevel is influenced by factors not under his control. For instance, childhood difficulties such as parenting style, neighborhood, school, peers and relations all impact a person in his adult life. This deterministic view holds that human actions are largely determined by forces not under his control. However, in believing so one is prone to the fallacy of being intransigent. Human beings irrespective of their backgrounds are capable of changing their behavior. For example, a child who learns smoking as a way of coping in adolescence can learn to consciously change this behavior as an adult by engaging in measures such as admitting self to rehabilitative centers.

Further, there are always forces which makes one vulnerable to certain actions. For instance, a person getting delayed to workplace due to heavy traffic may maintain his behavior of being grumpy or angry all day long or consciously make a decision to modify his affect and behavior. It is therefore, imperative to understand that there are always going to be forces which are not under one’s control, however how one responds to it is under the humans control.