People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting

them passively.

One of the many ideas of German philosopher Immanuel Kant is that of "Unmuendigkeit" which is the inability to question authority and simply accepting what one is told. He believed that stepping out of this situation is a crucial step in becoming a more complete human being, and ensure the movement towards democracy, away from blind tyranny. In this essay I argue in favour of questioning those in authority, firstly to prevent them from exploiting those who they yield power over, and secondly to preclude them from taking actions not in the interests of the general public.

"Democracy dies in darkness." This quote is famous for being the guiding principle of the American Newspaper Washington Post, a journal that has always seen itself at the forefront of promoting freedom of speech and questioning the actions of the wealthy and powerful. Simply accepting the rules of authority will aid the powerful in cementing their position of power and superiority, at the cost of their opponents and minorities. An illustrative example is the publishing of the "Pentagon Papers" by the aforementioned Washington Post in the 1970s, which showed the American public that several presidents had lied to the public about the then ongoing Vietnam War. Without its publishing, the most vulnerable groups such as Afroamericans, Hispanics or simply those from lower social classes would have continued to die in the forests of South-East Asia, perhaps up until today. It showcases that the questioning of authority by the general public is crucial in ensuring that the rights of everyone, including the most vulnerable groups in society, are honoured and respected.

Furthermore, it is paramount for the general wellbeing and competitiveness of a society to question their leaders so they do not become complacent in their role. History is full of empires and entire cultures that have vanished because their leaders were not sufficiently pressured into doing what is best for the general public. What Economists call a "Principle-Agent-Problem" is the situation when the objectives of the principal, or those in power are not aligned with the agents, or the general public. In order not to repeat the fate of Ancient Rome, Egypt or Imperial China, it is vital to question the motives of those who yield authority and make them prove day by day that they are worthy of their position, by doing what is best for those who they have authority over.

Finally, one may argue that an excessive lack of obedience might lead to anarchical circumstances and a dwindling societal progress. However, I believe that questioning those in power means not blindly protesting any reform undertaken, but rather monitoring leaders in their actions. In such a way chaotic circumstances with stalling progress can be precluded while ensuring leaders do not become complacant in their position.

In summary, questioning authority by the general public means stepping out of one's "Unmuendigkeit" as proposed by Immanuel Kant. This step is necessary to ensure the wellbeing of all those being governed, while keeping the powerful from abusing their position of supremacy.