Some believe that in order to take risks, we should consider its consequences. Apparently when we talk about risks, the first thing comes to mind, is the consequences. Since being risky is about catastrophic lose or fabulous win. In other words, risk taking reminds us a concept of zero or one. Therefore there would not be any middle ground, and logically, people should be careful while taking risks. I mostly agree with this notion, and will elaborate my opinion in this essay.

First of all, being or not being a risk taker is a controversial concept. Psychologists believe that some people tend to take more risks In comparison with others who are known as conservatives. These differences might be due to different environment and methods of growing, as well as the chemistry of our brains and our genetic. They also assert that this trait can be determined via taking tests and observing the subjects. While I partly agree with these findings, I personally believe that humankind is a complicated creature and we might not be accurate in predicting our actions. For example, a conservative person might once take a risk without even considering that as a risk! Specially when the unforeseen circumstances come up and we have to decide rapidly. For instance, when a parent is observing his/her child to be attacked by a car, they might pull the kid and take themselves in danger instead of them. Therefore it may not be exact to put this concept in the formula.

Furthermore, taking risk has a nature of uncertainty embodied in itself and we might face some negative outcomes while doing so. Although every action has a state of uncertainty and the wholly certain decisions might not get us any where. The certain decisions usually have limited positive outcomes, which in long term might not be as good as the positive consequence of a risky decision, although risks might have devastating results.

Finally, Although scholars assert that risk takers have an instinct tendency toward taking risks and are not able to estimate the consequences of their actions perfectly. On the other hand, conservatives are naturally sensitive to danger, they can easily feel it and avoid doing harmful things during their lives. Thus the way of arguing about the consequences of an action with these two groups might be fundamentally different. But I think that both groups can use the advantage of consultants before making difficult and important decisions.

In conclusion, Despite the complexities of decision making among people, from my personal stand point, the estimation of the decision’s consequences is always possible to some extent, and we can make wise decisions by doing analysis before action.