People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims that people can commit to an idea or policy deeply as well as hold a critical view about it. I don’t agree with such a statement generally, as such a situation may only be applicable with some ingenious people, such as scientists and artists.

As we all know, it is very common that ordinary people only accept the ideas or policies which meet their desires, but rarely posing challenges to them. One of the reasons that causes this situation is most people tend to be superficial in modern society. With the fast growing of internet industry, people nowadays have easier access to ideas and information. Many KOL(key opinion leaders) will offer their analysis to the heat events, and thereby attracting the attention of the public who agree with their ideas. However, this type of communication between KOL and their fans is one-way business and sometimes even discourages people from criticising their idols’ views, as ordinary people rely too much on KOL’s. Thus, it is difficult for people to both have the ability to be committed to an idea and be critical of it.

However, there’re still some people in our society who are keen to question ideas and policies, especially scientists and artists. For example, Galileo had substantiated the theory which indicated the sun was the centre of the universe. Such a theory was unacceptable by his counterparts and people in his era, but it laid a solid foundation to the development of modern astronomy. The education Galileo received must teach him to believe the earth was the centre of the universe, but after his deep investigation and calculation to this topic, he questioned that idea and proved a new theory. As to reasons why it is the scientists or artists who can both accept an idea and also challenge it, I contend that they are most likely to be gifted with a special force to discover the flaws of an idea or policy and fix it with a sense of obligation.

In sum, while most people are only able to accept an opinion without the willingness and ability to question it, a small proportion of people such as scientists and artists do advance the prosperity of our society by not merely receiving ideas, but challenging them and finding the truth.