People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When a person commits himself to an idea, he develops feelings of care and ownership with regard to the idea or policy. It is based on simple psychological features of human beings. I totally agree to the stated notion. Furthermore, the greater the dedication is toward the idea, the more critical he becomes. Sometimes this critical thinking might result in violent actions which need to be kept under control. It is the duty of people to use the critical approach for common benefit.

The idea is quite analogous to the parent child relationship. The parents commit their entire life for upliftment of their children and thus, become too critical of them. A little harm to children might lead to magnified wounds to parents. Again, if child rebels to the views of parents, they try to correct him so as to meet their expectations. If someone tries to harm the child, his parents may become violent to shield him. People often worry for the future of their children mainly they become too critical of them.

Psychology gives firm logical explanation for such behavior of human beings and even other living creatures. The field of psychology states the bridge which leads to the emotional surge. When a person remains attached to some object, creature, idea or policy, he develops emotional attachment to the subject. When someone tries to distort the same, the committed person reacts sharply to the disturbances. This sharp reaction is a combination of emotions and the predominant characteristics of resisting changes. Also, the dedicated one generates a sense of ownership and therefore, tries to bend things in order to meet his emotional needs and expectations.

Some may argue over the violence that takes place when thinking and emotions become too critical. There have been numerous instances of this fact, for example, consider the suicide of a great mathematician when his theorems were duplicated by his friend who took the credit and fame associated with the work. Riots also occur due to identical hostile feelings arising out of the hypercritical minds of people when their loved beliefs and idea are attacked. But such mishaps can be prevented by inclusion of logic instead of blindly following emotions. Every stimulus does create response but no response is uncontrollable.

Hence, the view of author remains a truth of nature. Critical response should be utilized positively so as to facilitate the necessary reforms or retention of laws, policies and ideas in the most peaceful way possible.