People who make decisions based on emotion and justify decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A person is always faced with the dilemma of whether to take a decision practically or emotionally. People who make decisions based on emotion and justify decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers. I agree with this statement and I put forward the reasoning behind my position in the paragraph below .

Firstly, we have all come across situations wherein we feel hopeless, think that our luck is running out and we are not going anywhere in life. Such kind of situations cause a human to fall for psychic practices like tarot readers and other religious methods. These miscreants pry upon dejected souls and take advantage of people in peril. Owing to this people end up loosing money in the form of scams or blackmailing. It sometimes does happen that people attribute their success to such practices but in reality, and in my opinion, their success is a result of their own hard-work rather that their false and emotional beliefs on psychic practices.

Secondly, a leader of a company or the leader of a country has to take practical and informed decisions rather than decisions that ride upon emotions. For example, a project leader of a certain team requires a new software for his team. Owing to the problems his immediate brother is facing in terms of his business in the software sector and to boost his business, the project leader gives the order for the software to his brothers company. Such a decision could later come back to haunt the project leader if his brother is unable to deliver the software and consequently it would also mean that the project leader looses his job. The decision made by the project leader was purely based on emotions and a logical explanation afterwards would bear no relevance.

Lastly, individuals in an army have to always take into account the practicality of every decision that they make on a battlefield. A prime example would be the situation during the second world war. A group of mathematicians working for the british army finally understood the working of Enigma, a german encryption machine which they used to send secret messages. The first message which the british team decoded was an air-strike on one of the it's ships. The commander of the ship was brother of one of the mathematician. So emotionally he thought of informing the ship. But such an approach would have alerted the germans that enigma was no more a secret device and they would have changed it with something far superior. The team went against informing the ship. And even though the mathematician lost his brother, at the end of the day, that decision and their collective effort helped cut down the duration of the war by two years. The practical thinking and the logic behind it, helped them to make a reasoned decision.

In sum, I am a strong advocate of the statement that people who make decisions based on emotion and justify decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers. The world we live in needs a pragmatic mindset and emotional decisions can later comeback to haunt a person even if he or she justifies it with a logical reasoning.