People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

It is often said that one should never take decisions based on emotions. This has been taught to us from childhood and one constantly comes across such quotes in daily life and social media which state the same.

One might argue, what's wrong with having emotions or being emotional! True, there is nothing wrong in having emotions. After all we are the human race, being emotional is nothing but natural. But giving into them while making critical decisions can prove to be harmful at times.

Decisions based on emotions tend to be more rushed and less fruitful. Not only do emotions collude the mind and prevent it from thinking rationally but also tend to look at short-term gains ignoring long-term effects.

One might take a decision when emotional, which might seem drastic to some, and then try to justify them with logic later. But decision making is a complex process. It requires both emotions and intellect. Emotions to make it more humanitarian and intellect to vision the long-term effects and logic behind the course of action.

Those who overlook either one of the aspects are bound to make mistakes and do blunders.

No matter how much one tries to rectify them later, or defend it with logic, it just doesn't make up. For example, a wife victim of domestic violence chooses to live with the man hoping that it would stop someday. Although not justified, she tries to justify her action time and again and tries to console herself. But deep in her heart she knows that these thoughts are mere imagination she chooses to live in. Things do not change unless she takes a decision and stands up for herself.

There are numerous such examples all around us. One does not hear often that an emotional decision lead to a positive outcome. Defending them later on with logic is nothing more than making an excuse to make oneself feel better and hind from guilt.

There is no doubt that good decision is based on both emotions and intellect. Relying solely on just one might lead to poor decision eventually.