People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers

The above argument states that the people who make decisions based on emotion and explaining it with logic generally tend to regret it later.

The statement is true in many aspects. Situations in life merely don't depend on our emotions to achieve a proper decision. While making a decision there are other factors such as experience, understanding capability, knowledge (in some situations).

People who tend to make decisions emotionally are actually, purely under the pressure of the personal attack of the situation. This tends to generate strong emotional responses depending on the type of attack and on the area of attack. Emotions can actually manipulate people which sometimes influenced by various elements such as nepotism, gender discrimination, caste, race etc.

The examples of these emotionally generated decisions are sometimes seen in the political ways or while drafting laws which tend to highlight a certain backward community. These reforms are generated due to the emotions of people who form unions to support their "cause" and then pressurize the government. The government due to this carefully calculated emotional protest tends to reform the laws. However, after some time the general class of people who are affected by it starts revolting against this particular reform and then blame the government for the bad condition. Obviously, a meeting is called to ponder over this situation which is basically another form of showing regret and then the blame game starts.

The statement made is true in some way such as when we make personal decisions. For example, a human's desire for connection with a certain someone is mostly based off of emotions. We don't generally see the pros and cons of it. Our emotions actually help us in making this decision and actually in a most straightforward manner. This is why the culture of spontaneous proposals rise up. Yes, the divorce rate is increasing because of emotionally generated decisions but it caters the need of happiness, satisfaction, and content. Again these are all emotions. To explain the statement in a more precise manner the emotional decisions cater to the emotional needs of a person but do not satisfy the person materially.