People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Decisions are the result of the human psychological thinking based on various factors which affect this very decision-making ability. Many a time this ability is influenced by an emotion which thwarts the process of making a decision based on pure logic and practicality. I comply to the idea that people who make decisions based on emotions are poor decision makers to some extent.

Firstly, to cite an example which supports the above assertion, After the successful mission of the Apollo 11 Space program by the United States of America, USSR also tried to reach the Moon. This decision by the USSR was taken very quickly and also was taken while being emotionally influenced. The result of this decision as we all know unfortunately, was not in the favor of Russia. The mission failed miserably and was also a major catalyst in the disintegration of the USSR. Therefore, in this case USSR proved to be a poor decision maker due to the emotional influence.

Secondly, our everyday decisions are also sometimes influenced by emotions. For example, in today’s world technology is developing at a rapid pace and thus this effect of technology is observed in the cellphone industry. A person buys a cellphone and on the next day, a new cellphone with new and advanced features comes in the market. This in turn motivates the person to buy that new and expensive cellphone just because he was emotionally motivated to make this decision. After buying the new cellphone, he will justify it by telling everyone about its cutting-edge features. But at the end of the day, he will realize that his old cellphone was as good as his newer one.

On the other hand, Decisions based on emotions can sometimes lead to a successful outcome and with logical reasoning. To give an example, A person who is overweight can get motivated by the emotions and willpower to lose their weight by joining the gym or practicing a healthy diet. These decisions are also proved many a time logical afterwards. Thus, the assertion that people who make decision emotionally and justify them with logic afterwards prove to be invalid in above scenario.

Hence, the statement that people who make decisions based on emotions and justify those with logic afterwards are poor decision makers is rather ambiguous. It can depend from person to person and thus we cannot firmly say that such people are poor decision makers.