To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

A true leader is the one who motivates and stands as a role model for the people who follow him/her. As the author claims that an effective leader should maintain the highest ethical and moral standards, I strongly concur to this assertion.

Firstly, A true example of a great and effective leader is Abraham Lincoln. He was the one who brought justice and equality to the colored people in the United States of America. During the hard time he stood firmly by his moral standards and ethics. Many white politicians including from his own party opposed his decision to support coloured people at that time. Hence, due to this audacity of Mr. Lincoln, America witnessed one of the most ethical and effective leaders of all time.

Furthermore, there are myriad of examples to give based on the effectiveness and ineffectiveness of the leaders in the past history. One such example to cite for is Adolf Hitler. During his tenure as the dictator of Nazi Germany, almost every individual knows how tyrannical ruler he was. He was the mastermind behind the mass murders of Jew people. A leader is the one who teaches his own people what is right or wrong. Hitler most certainly failed to maintain the most basic ethical and moral standards a true leader should possess.

To bolster the claim done by the author, we can see to the everyday examples around us. According to a study, Netherlands have the lowest rate for corruption in the world. The study also claims that the Prime Minster travels to the parliament using his bicycle rather than using a government vehicle. On the contrary, a country like India or Pakistan have a huge amount of corruption embedded inside the system due to the lack of moral standards and ethics. As said earlier, since Netherlands have such an effective leader with such a high value for ethical and moral standards, the people who follow him will surely imbibe these values in them.

Secondly, A public official is responsible for the welfare of the citizens of his nation. Therefore, to be an effective leader he/she should have the core principles and ethical values which can be used for the upliftment of the nation. Also, a public official is a prominent representative of the country. He is the one who stage himself on behalf of the country on a global level once he becomes a leader of the same.

To sum it up, Leaders are a stature for the people that are following him/her respectively and hence a public official should possess and maintain the highest ethical and moral standards to be proved as an effective leader.