People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Often when faced with a tough decision, logic plays a key role in foreshadowing outcomes and considering every scenario. However, emotion is usually what of the driving factors when we actually do make a decision. How does our choice affect us and those around us? To make any wholehearted choice means emotion may be at the forefront of the decisionmaking process and logic remains as its support.

Consider making a decision as tough as abortion. This topic has been argued logically among many parties--politically and socially--and still remains a tough decision to make when faced with it. Logically, aborting a child may be reasonable if it would be raised in a single-parent household or if it's known to have a genetic defect that appeared in a genetic test. But emotionally, mothers make the decision based on values--those that are rooted in their beliefs and feelings on the issue. If a mother feels incapable of taking care of her child on her own, she may choose to abort. If a mother notices that the child will grow up with a debilitating disorder, she may choose to abort. These gut reactions, these emotions, drive the decision.

In addition, considering the logic behind these decisions shows that there is a "rhyme or reason" behind these feelings. Logic has a significant part in decisionmaking as it can take those emotions and values and explain how the decision makes sense. In the abortion example, if a mother cannot raise a child on her own, she might consider the finances revolving around raising a child, finding a work-life balance as a single parent, or laying out a plan for her how this child fits into her goals in life. For the mother noticing her child may be born with a genetic disorder, she might be thinking about the finances as well to pay for medication or therapy, how the child will thrive in society, and how her work-life balance may shift to give even more care to the child. These reasons are foundational to that emotional gut decision.

Though emotion can drive one to make a decision, logic clearly is vital to the whole decisionmaking process. Some people may decide to "logic" their way through a decision or problem. It's not bad to seriously consider every outcome and understand all the consequences that stem from a decision. But at the same time, overanalyzing a situation or choice may prove to be a worse way to decide on something. Instances, where one is stuck on a choice or can't decide, is often where someone steps in to say "just go with your gut."