The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of the Juniper Cafe, a small, local coffee shop in the downtown area of a small American city:

"We must reduce overhead here at the cafe. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won't be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs."

The owner of Juniper Café believes that changing the hours of operation will ultimately save the café more money. However, the owner fails to understand that there may be other costs draining his or her funds, fails to present a proper breakdown of his or her cost allocation, and fails to empathize with the needs of his or her employees.

First, the owner states in the memorandum that by decreasing the hours of operations, the café will save money by not paying for those extra utility bills, paying employee wages, and other operating costs. This argument doesn’t delve into other possibilities of costs. For example, perhaps the cost of coffee beans that are imported from other countries are too high. The owner could instead buy more locally sourced beans. Other ingredients or items, such as milk, sugar syrups, and bakery treats may boost costs—especially if customers are not buying enough of these other products. By considering these are aspects of running a café, the owner could cut costs in other, more effective ways that may better satisfy customers as well.

In addition to looking for other ways to cut costs, the owner doesn’t provide support as to why he or she picked cutting operation hours to save on utility bills and employee wages. If the owner made a conscious decision about cost reductions, he or she should have explained how high the utility bill has gotten over a span of few months and shown how the new hours would reduce that cost. Or if he or she is not willing to let go of employees, then explain how the new hours will help Juniper save money while sustaining the baristas’ jobs.

In relation to the employees at Juniper Café, it’s possible that reduced hours may be more of a hindrance to the staff than helpful. Many part-time, service jobs take on employees who need a flexible work schedule that provides enough hours for them to make ends meet. This is particularly the case for students or people taking on second jobs. By reducing hours, the owner is not being empathetic to his or her staff and creating an inadequate work environment for these people. This puts the café at risk of losing employees, who are in need of maintaining a certain number of hours each week.

Though the owner of Juniper Café has an idea of how to save money, he or she did not consider how changing the hours of operations will affect the store, the patrons, and the employees. With more support of his or her choice on where to cut spending or perhaps more consideration of the different stakeholders of the café, the owner could have presented a more thoughtful memo to his or her staff.