'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of this television station believes that reallocating more time to weather and local news will cull more viewers during the late-night news program and retain the stations current advertisement revenue. However, the manager fails to explore the reasons why the station has received so many complaints in the past year and why ad agencies are pulling their advertisements. With more support, this manager can better explain his or her decision to focus more on local news and weather.

To begin, the manager notes that the station has devoted more time to national news in the past year. And he or she mentions that only weather and local news received most of the complaints from viewers. What isn't clear in this memo is whether viewers want more screen time for local news and weather, or if they had complaints with the coverage itself. A proper way to address this portion of the memo is if the manager could support this claim with quotes from letters or paraphrased statements stating that viewers want more weather and local news. If viewers had complaints about the content of the coverage, such as poor reporting or inaccuracies, then allocating more time for these areas would produce the opposite effect and cause more viewers to stop watching this program. A better solution, in this instance, would be to have better editors and fact-checkers in place for local pieces.

In addition to the vague statements regarding viewers, the manager doesn't provide enough information as to why advertisers are pulling ads from this program. Even if there was a special focus on national news each night, this wouldn't hurt local businesses or their advertising. It's possible that the local news and weather coverage may not be showcasing the locality well. Perhaps the businesses are often being attacked in the reporting, thus causing the local businesses to pull their ads from this station. It would be in the managers best interest to disclose why these businesses no longer want to advertise with the station to properly understand if there's something inherently wrong with the program or if it's the fact that little attention is paid to the community.

If the issue is not the quality of reporting local news and weather and is solely related to viewership, then the manager should review ratings and viewership analytics. This kind of information will provide insight into the demographics of viewers and why viewership may fluctuate based on the timing of each news segment. If viewership is low during national news and higher during local news and weather, then it would be in the best interest of the station to focus on local news and weather.

In conclusion, the business manager of this station should have done more investigation into the matter before declaring the need to shift focus from national news to local news and weather. Evidence from the content of news segments, the advertisers' rationale, and viewership would have provided stronger arguments to support the manager's decision.