A nation should have a national curriculum for schools until students go to college.

If a nation were to standardize K through 12 curricula across all schools, students would not succeed as well as the educational system would hope. A nation should not require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until college because of the following three reasons: 1) students will be siloed in one category, reducing options for advancement or remedial education for those who excel and those who struggle, respectively; 2) standardizing the courses will mean not allowing students to take electives, thus reducing creativity and innovation; and 3) removing these extra courses will reduce students' chances to explore career options before settling on a concentration in college.

First, the biggest issue with the statement is that standardizing the national curriculum will force students to study at one pace. Students do not learn this way. Some students excel and need to take more advanced courses. For example, a student, who is exceptional at math in 5th grade, should be able to skip algebra and move on to geometry by testing out on an exam. This student may find that mathematics is an area of interest as well. For students who struggle in school, they need options where they receive extra guidance and at a slower pace of education. These students can ultimately climb back up to the pace of other, average students, but they need to have that kind of course option instead of being forced to keep pace with other students.

Second, preventing students from taking courses outside of their requirements would be a serious detriment to their learning. Electives outside of English, language, history, math, and science are what help students become more creative and innovative thinkers. Courses such as ceramics, 3D animation, journalism, engineering, computer science all allow students to build upon the basics they learn from other courses and think outside the comfort zones created by those foundation courses. For example, English teaches the basics of grammar, diction, and syntax but may not teach a student styles of writing seen out in the world. Journalism would be a great course to test those basic English skills and push students to write in various styles and tones.

Third, it's additionally important to sustain courses such as these electives mentioned above because they add benefit to students who want to explore career options before picking a concentration in college. Taking a journalism course and joining the school newspaper in high school, for instance, will be great experience for a student interested in writing and reporting. In addition, it's an effective transition into the high-skill, high-stress world of media.

Although a nation-wide curriculum wouldn't be as beneficial to students as the educational system argues, there would be some benefit in knowing how students fare using a baseline. Therefore the current system has "required" courses alongside electives, and it's also the reason why it has standardized tests to assess all students on those foundation courses. ACT and SAT exams tend to show how students do solely based on the core curriculum, and that might be the best way to test students without risking other avenues of education and career preparation.

In conclusion, a national curriculum seems like an ideal when giving students equal footing on education, but it would, in fact, hinder their education more. It's critical to understand that learning pace, creativity, and career options all play a role in shaping a student into who they want to be when they enter college and the workforce.