An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

In the impoverished nation of Tagus, the government is attempting to address a serious public health issue; the people of Tagus are suffering from a widescale vitamin A deficiency. In response, the Tagus government decided that engineering a new breed of millet high in vitamin A will solve the problem. However, Tagus doesn't support many of the claims it makes in justifying the production of this millet. For example, do the people of Tagus want this millet or are there enough people to justify producing this millet, will the farmers truly be compensated fairly, and are there other, cheaper alternatives?

First, the Tagus government did not address whether the citizens were well informed of the new vitamin A-enriched millet and whether there are enough people who need this alternative crop. The citizens of Tagus likely see issues with immunity and poor vision and hearing due to the deficiency, but the government needs to note that there is indeed a need for this product. How many people are affected by the deficiency? Good support to address these questions would include surveys of the Tagus people, perhaps conducted by medical facilities. Interviews with citizenry would also help capture the scope of the issue and provide anecdotal insight.

Second, if the government can't confirm that X number of people out of the population suffering from vitamin A deficiency, then Tagus can't determine if the subsidies will sustain farmers. By promoting the millet and stating that farmers won't need to worry so much about paying for the pricier seeds, the government presumes that people will want the crop; the sales will be there. Once confirming if the population desperately needs this new millet, then a cost analysis must be conducted. For X people of the population pays for Y tons of millet each year, the government will subsidize $Z to the vitamin-A millet farmers of Tagus. This will ensure that farmers are effectively compensated, all while tracking the consumption of the millet.

Lastly, if engineering these new seeds is more costly and will cost farmers more upfront, it might be more reasonable for Tagus to seek other produce to prioritize. For example, carrots and tomatoes are relatively rich in vitamin A and are relatively cheap to grow. If the need is there and the cost of these vegetables is lower, there may not be a need for Tagus to subsidize farmers or at least have fewer subsidies to pay out. If alternatives rich in vitamin A were considered, it would be useful to understand why they were ruled out in order to prioritize this new millet.

In conclusion, the nation of Tagus fell short on its rationale as to why it should promote a vitamin A-rich millet. The government did not address the need for this millet in full scope, it did not provide insight on the costs of this product, and it did not offer alternatives (or why it couldn't). With these points, the Tagus government could possibly save money and help its farmers and citizens in the most effective ways possible.