People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Everyday, we are faced with a need to choose between two or more different options. While there are a few decisions we are required to make on the spur of the moment, majority of our decisions are based on analytical reasoning

Decision making, especially decisions which affect a large number of people is a complex process. Leaders in positions of authority make decisions which affect large numbers of people and have to weigh the pros and cons before they arrive at a decision. It is from this logical evaluation process that they arrive at adept decisions. While it cam be argued that some decisions need to be made as a stop-gap or in case of an emergency, this is not the norm.

Not only decisions which affect large numbers of people need to be based on logic, also, long-term decisions. Good decision makers tend to ruminate about the effects of their decisions on the long run before arriving at such a decision. For example, making a choice of a career or a life-partner, one has to transcend the current feelings of love and admiration and think about compatibility in the case of a spouse and financial security for a career. This is not to totally undermine one's emotions, as emotions will keep you going in the short term, but beyond that, logical reasoning is required for good decisions.

The best decision makers base not only their long term decisions on logic, but also their everyday decisions. An astute decision maker will consider the weather, occasion and formality in arriving at a an outfit for an event. It would not be apt to be put on clothes that will end up making you inconvenient just because you like such clothes. Occasionally, an outfit may be chosen based on emotions but such are few and far between for tactful decision makers.

Although, some may reason that emotions are required for critical decisions such as saving someone from a fire, still it is necessary to evaluate the chances of success and the chances of making it out. It would be unwise to try to save someone from a fire and getting trapped inside with the victim of the fire. It would be astute to try to put out the fire and place a call for skilled personnel to come and deal with the fire adequately.

In conclusion, great and successful decision makers such as generals of armies and chief executives of corporations base their decisions on logical reasoning majority of the time except for a few times they rely carefully on their instincts and not mere emotions.