People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

There has been a long standing debate on the subject "People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers". It is very hard to categorically state the part with the highest supporters. A number of people believe this statement and a number of people also consider it false or questionable. It is important to make some query out of this statement and judge from there if it is actually a valid statement.

Firstly, worthy of note is the fact that decision making falls into diverse context. And this already clarifies that what is applicable sometimes might not be applicable other times. People make decision based on their culture, religion, environment, personality, Love etc. Considering the premise of the recommendation, humans are naturally emotional beings. Therefore we have the tendencies to be led by our emotions. Those who have outgrown this have consciously learnt it and it is still questionable to say that their every decision is made logically. And some of these decisions would have been made the other way if thought through. For instance, the man who caught is wife with another man and got the other man stabbed wasn't thinking of the consequences when he did that. His justification will be that the other man trespassed. No matter how we see it, that was a bad decision. The question here is, are "People" humans? If it's affirmative, then the recommendation is true.

Also, given the world we Live in, humans can be religious. There are diverse authorities that people acknowledge as their god. Christians for instance, believe in an unseen God, receive salvation by faith. Which implies accepting without a physical evidence. This is purely emotional. However, they go about justifying it with logics drawn from the scriptures and other teachings. And this goes beyond Christians. The question here is, will people make decision on religion or who to follow? If they will, hence, the recommendation is true.

Following the already established points, we can infer that humans tend to make a lot of emotional decisions. Some mothers give their children more than the prescribed doses of drugs, they justify it by saying they want quick recovery. This, we know can be deleterious, and this is just one out of many ways people make decisions emotional and justify it with logic. The possible complications that can come from overdose and the likes will establish the fact that these people are poor decision-makers.