People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers

I do not fully agree with speaker's claim that people who make decisions based on emotion and justify them are poor decision makers.

The act of making poor decisions is not related to only decisions made 'emotionally'. There can many numerous other factors that can lead to poor decisions. Also, if a decision is made based on emotions, that does not necessary be a bad decision.

What makes a decision 'right' or 'wrong'? This is a very vague term and it depends on the context and on one's perception. For some people, a particular decision may be right but others may refute that decision. This mostly happens when politicians put forward a reform and that mostly effects in mixed feelings from people as they cannot make each and every person happy at the same time. Thus, the point being, a 'wrong' decision has many factors and one of it may or may not be the emotions attached to it while making that decision.

Are decisions made based on emotions always bad? No. The humanitarians in crisis ridden Syria are helping people who are in dire need of assistance. This is a choice made by humanitarians working in Syria and it is based on emotions, emotion to help needy, and this decision is not wrong. The act of helping the needy is a right decision to make.

There are cases where decisions made on emotions are regretted on the hind-side. For example, a father buying a car for his son but knows that his son is an addict and is not ready for it. Later the son has a severe accident because he was drunk when driving. The father will definitely regret his decision of buying the car.

The speaker also mentions about justifying decisions with logic. Isn't each and every decision made, justifiable with logic? Even if the logic is flawed, a logical explanation can be given of each decision. So, that does not mean that one who gives an explanation, has made a poor decision.

To sum up, decisions made on emotions are not necessary poor. Justifying decisions made does not mean that those decisions are bad. A poor decision can be 'poor' because of numerous causes and not only because decision was made based on emotional factors.