People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Decision making is an important part of life. Anything that we do is part of a decision that we consciously or even subconsciously make. Whether we make these decisions based on logic or emotions depends entirely on how these decisions will affect other people.

Firstly, it is very difficult to distinguish whether a decision is bad or good as it will ultimately depend on the person making them and how it will affect him and also what that person perceives as good or bad. Some might believe that a decision that makes them happy in the present moment is the right one but some might want to sacrifice their present happiness for future gain.

Here the author is assuming that making decisions based on emotion and then justifying them later makes people poor decision makers.I do not believe that it is always possible to make decision based on pure logic. This is because logic cannot explain emotions. What about the times we crave a ice-cream but are sure it is not good for our weight? We might still have it because it will make us happy. For these people , their present happiness is more important than their ultimate goal and there is nothing wrong with this as long as their decisions are just affecting themselves.

But there are cases when it is equally important that logic and proper reasoning is followed to ensure decisions are taken that will ensure a positive outcome. For example ,decisions taken by the government about economic and security policies have to be made with a clear head without the effect of any intruding emotions because these decisions will ultimately affect a huge number of people. In such cases we need to make sure that emotions do not lead us to make biased decisions that might become detrimental for the people around us. Heads of democratic countries to not have the liberty of making decisions based solely on their emotions otherwise these governments will be no different from dictatorships.

Most of the time, personal decisions are made based on emotions as they ultimately affect us. But when it comes to decisions that will affect others, it is always better to follow logic and proper reasoning.