When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings

With increasing population , the need for more land has increased. It can be to widen roads for the burgeoning number of vehicles, especially in many Indian and European cities which have grown in a haphazard manner, for residential purposes to accommodate the expanding population, or even for an entertainment park build purely for financial gain. Often it so happens that the land under question might already be occupied. It may already have a residential building present there or might even have a market of some sort.

When it comes to these buildings, the decision to pull them down weighs heavily on us. For one reason, these old building are often of some historical importance, for example in countries like India or Greece which have always had a rich history . They might be an significant part of the region's culture and heritage acting as a tourist attraction as these buildings and structures often represent architectural marvel of some period in History. They are as important as Picasso's paintings which are preserved so lovingly around the world.

In the cases where these building lack any historical importance , modern planners will have to present a cogent case in front of an unbiased committee outlining their reason for occupying the land. Also, due importance needs to be given to alternatives like skyscrapers for residence or flyovers to avoid traffic before we tear the buildings down. In most of the cities across the world we notice that there is a lack of proper planning such that land under use has not been utilised to its full extend. Instead of expanding future land, proper utilization of the existing area should be done.

Modern developers also need to research the possibility that these old building might actually serve their purpose, For example the post office might be housed in one of these building or they might serve as a market place depending on their location. This will serve the purpose of preserving these historical building as well as will address the needs of the people.

But we should also remember that these old building are often a safety hazard. Without proper maintenance , these building might become a danger to the people living in them as well as the public around them. Let's take the example of Stephen house in Kolkata where a fire broke out due to bad wiring . In such cases, proper investigation needs to be carried about the viability of these building and in case they are found wanting, a plan needs to be devised either to tear it down or to make renovations to it.

Modern development should not come at the cost of our rich history as once gone these reminders of our culture will not come back. A proper investigation with a great emphasis on alternatives is the plan that developers should consider when it comes to these old building.