Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Food and Employment are the basic necessities of life. When the citizens of a country are being deprived of these basic requirements, it is indeed a problem of great magnitude. But before we decide whether or not we should suspend funding for the arts or pull money from any other field, we need to look into various factors.

First, we need to analyze the cause of the unemployment rates or why a majority of the people are going hungry. Often, on analyzing, we notice that it is not the lack of funding that is contributing to this situation but how the steps are being implemented combat these problems. It could be a natural disaster that is contributing to the lack of food, or perhaps it might me the result of the lack of jobs caused due to a global economic depression. The government might have to come up with solutions like importing grains or even encouraging start-up companies with office space ,tax incentives, etc., that will have a long term solution to these problems.

If we do find out that it is the lack of funding that is causing the problem and the government is not having adequate emergency funds to fight this, I believe it would be better for the government to try to reduce the funding from various other department instead of completely suspending funding for arts. That way, one single field will not be solely impacted.

We also need to consider that arts is already a neglected field in many countries. To further deplete its funds, will discourage the budding artists and cause their talent to go unnoticed. The government needs to focus on the immediate needs of the country as well as the cultural and intellectual endeavors of the people.

We also need to remember that many people are already employed in the arts as professors, in art galleries, etc. Cutting off funding for this group will actually be counterproductive to combating unemployment as this might lead to unemployment of many.

So my suggestion would be to properly analyze the causes behind these problems and their solutions before taking drastic measures that might eventually further add to the problem.