Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Morality deals with principles and ideals that an individual or a society adheres to. Though morality should be one on the factors that education should focus on, it should not be its foundation.

Education should be imparted in a manner that helps us in thinking individually. It should teach us how to approach any problem or hurdles with proper logical deduction.

If we make morality the foundation of education , we will simply establish a school of thought where other ideas that do not confer with these ideas, are simply disregarded. This is does not meet the motive of education. Instead we have to ask the students to think, to reason and then come to their conclusion about what is a morally correct thing to do.

Let us take the example of one of the ancient customs of India that says that a widow is supposed to only wear white clothes after her husband's death. All through the generations , this has been considered a sacred law , an integral part of what defines the moral character of a widow. But when we think about this logically, can we come up with any reason that wearing white could possible define the woman's character. The answer is no.

It is important that lessons are imparted about morality , where children are taught about good and bad and how their actions will affect others, but these lessons should be imparted in a manner where they are taught how to distinguish between the two. Instead of giving them a set of rules or ideals to confer to, they should be allowed to logically reason the pros and cons and how a custom or an action can affect them as well as others.

We have the ability to think , so instead of blindly accepting established ideals about morality, we should encourage the use of reason to distinguish between what is right and what is wrong.