Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Work can be of various types. It might be the dull work at our jobs or even research carried out by academics in their field of interest. In each case, the quality and success of the work done can be determined when it is subjected to analysis and judgement. I agree with the author to some extent that the critical judgement of work should be carried out by someone in that field but we also need to take into account how the work affects the laymen as well as the people belonging to the esoteric field.

Let me take the example of a movie that is about to be released. We know that the primary objective of the director and story writer is to make the movie appealing to the broader audience. The audience, who I consider the laymen of this field, will appreciate the overall effect of the movie but not the minute details like lighting, sound or the photography. This is where the experts in these particular fields come in and who will be able to really dissect the movie and point out its weak and strong technical points. Here the movie I being judged both by the laymen as well as the experts of the field.

Now when an exceptional breakthrough is achieved by a physicist, the scientific papers that he might publish may not make any sense to a literature student, the layman in this case, and will not be able offer his opinions but a another physicists will understand this paper and offer his judgement.

Also, there is the case where a outsiders view might actually discover fallacies in the work which an experienced eye might miss due to their tunnel vision. A fresh eye with no preconceived notion will analyze the work in a manner different from the expert. This often happens when working on a computer code. You might not notice where you are going wrong but a second person hen gives it a look actually finds the error in a matter of second-something that was so simple but you were continuously overlooking.

So in my perspective, it really depends on the work and who it is targeted for will decide its critics .The experts will always be able to provide a clear analysis but if the said work targets the laymen as well, their input also needs to be taken into consideration.