In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

In this day and age, for any person to become truly an idol or a hero it is necessary that he or she prove himself amongst the rest of the world. He needs to achieve success through the work .Due to the highly competitive nature of our world today, it has people have resorted to unfair and illegal means to achieve said success and so it is becoming increasing easy to expose their schemes and manipulations. Even, their personal life is coming under scrutiny.

For someone to become or remain an idol or hero in the public’s eye, it is necessary that every aspect of his life can stand under the public scrutiny. With paparazzi, blogs, etc. it is impossible for the celebrities to hide a mistake. Even cover ups at the government level are now exposed by various sites like WikiLeaks. The various forms of media are not only concerned with their present mistakes but they also dig into the person’s past to uncover every skeleton he or she has tried to hide.

It is very difficult with these forces at work to make sure that a person’s image is so spotless that he can be considered a hero because often he might be a hero when his present actions are considered but his past may demean him in the eyes of the world. But there are people like Sachin Tedulkar, APJ who have proved themselves to be the hero and an idol .They have been able hold on to their place on the top of the pedestal. But if we take the example of Tiger Woods, even though he is a great sportsman, his personal choices have made him loose his place as an idol to many.

So even though, it is perhaps unfair of us to place such high expectations on people ,there are people who have made no mistake and are always stayed true to their cause, there are people who have achieved this and it gives us hope that we might still have heroes among us.