People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this'well connected' world, where the we are constantly surrounded by people with myriad of behaviors and are bombarded with loads of information about how one must react or behave in a certain situation: Famous examples are those social media posts that starts with '10 things you must do when you are making an important decision' and other sources like 'professionals' offering advice, it seems that the choice of our behaviour is not so much in our control.

Let us consider a typical day of an average human being and determine what say he has in how his day goes. Firstly, the work place. There are statistics to prove that most of the people are not happy with their job. Then why dont they just quit? The underlying reason is family. If he/she leaves the job, there would be financial problems in the family thus forcing him/her to continue the job. Secondly, we can look at the small choices that people make in everyday life to see how much do they actually want to make that choice.

For example, moms go shopping in a supermarket. she would have to buy products that she may not like but her kids or spouse might. Her buying behaviour might entirely change for the family. Speaking of buying behaviour, it is a very classic example to show how people end up buying things that they would not use.This attitude is partly influenced by media and advertisement where the product is shown all perfect and flawless but in reality it is no where close to that and rest by peer pressure. How many teenagers we know who succumb to peer pressure and buy things that they cant afford and is not necessary? (For example iPhones)

Another great example for this would be our emotional behaviour.It is well known that they are irrational. people end up taking stupid decisions when they are emotionally unstable. Their entire behaviour alters. I am sure,all of us would have encountered this or atleast read something along the lines of 'Millionaire becomes pauper in one night because of gambling'.

Society plays an important role in determining our behaviour. In India, it is more prominent when it comes to choosing a major for the college. Most of the Indians choose engineering as their majors because that is what society has been telling them to do so( a major misconception that only that field can offer a great job with good money). It is an unfortunate situation because kids spend grueling no of hours studying for the competetitive exams and end up believing that it is their own personal choice to become one. But when the societal veneer is torn apart once they enter college, they end up regretting their decision.

This is a classic example of how the behaviour of people are influenced by others in a domain as important as career where only the personal choice should matter.

Having exhaustively explored the areas in which people dont act independently because of various reasons, one must understand that there is an important difference between humans and animals and that is the sixth sense. We ae not monkeys that throws the hat when it master does the same. Wehave an incredible power to differentiate ,analyse and think on our own. While society imparts both good and bad, it is our duty to carefully assess and absorb only the good and ignore the bad. The ultimate benefit is afterall for us to lead a better life.