People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

We would like to believe we meticulously shape our behavior in accordance to who we wish to become in the not-so-distant future, unfortunately, our behavior is only partially under our control. As children, most of us were taught by our caregivers an idea of what is right and what is wrong - probably, we all learned that stealing is wrong and helping the needy is good. However, some of us, learned these lessons from life, or not at all.

The statement sheds light on an important topic that receives little attention: are we in control of our behavior? Looking back at the introduction, one could argue that these so-called “lessons” are obvious, and that we can learn these truths simply by experiencing life, however, not all humans think the same, and we all learn different lessons from the same interactions in life. Even though we all see the same colors, and hear the same sounds, two different individuals do not perceive similar experiences the same. Therefore, we learn different life-lessons from similar experiences.

Our behavior, and line-of-reason is formed from our experiences growing up, and continues to evolve as we develop from new experiences. Consider a child who grew up in a low-income neighbourhood, where crime is prevalent, with little to no attention from his caregivers: that child, probably became apathetic to crimes, and perhaps, even committed them himself - let us assume it was because he did not have money to eat. Of course that an officer of the law would hold his crimes against him, but is it a surprise that he committed them? Through this person’s entire life there was no-one to guide him, and his actions were quite simply, a product of his environment - he needed to eat, and that is the way he felt was the most efficient. That person, who is no longer a child, was never taught that becoming a criminal is not an acceptable way to sustain himself.

On the other side of the scale, consider a person who grew up in a wealthy neighbourhood, with nurture and love from his parents, he knew very well that committing a crime is an unacceptable way to deal with difficulties, regardless of what life throws at him. However, he was never taught to be economical, especially with money. Eventually, when his parents passed away, he inherited their fortune, and as a result, he spent all of it on lavish cars, and the likes. He was never taught to reserve his money, and the people he was surrounded by his entire life were not frugal either. Regardless of what most people would say, that person’s “faith” was already sealed -- he did not know any better.

Ultimately, we are a product of our environment, we are taught through life-lessons and guidance, if we are lucky. That is not to say we are drifting through life completely powerless, but we are all raised and learn from other people in life -- people who believe they teach us the important lessons of life, or maybe we learn through experiences, by interacting with other people. We all have an idea about what is wrong and what is right, however, we put emphasis to values in accordance of our experiences in life, and thus, our future is more often than not, predetermined.