People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I support the President's imposition of death sentences against suspects with known associations to terrorist groups. Violent hate groups seldom reform without a powerful incentive. Despite their hideous crimes, the Taliban members who bombed the World Trade Center in 1993 have not been executed. they are serving life sentences in us prisons and continue to spew anti-American rhetoric at our government's expense. Many suspect that the devastating attacks of September 11, 2001 were conceived and organized by these convicted prisoners. Likewise, iranian terrorists serving life sentences continue to stimulate anti-American hatred throughout the Middle East.

Opponents of the President's policy claim that convicted terrorists are sources of valuable information that they can share only if they remain alive. Yet history suggests that these terrorists would rather die that turn against their leaders. The Malaysian terrorists who bombed the American Embassy in Kabul in 1996 swallowed poison rather than negotiate with FBI investigators. Since their 1989 capture, thirty imprisoned iranian terrorists have refused to exchange information in return for a reduced sentence. Clearly, terrorists are prepared to die for their political causes and their survival offers no clear advantage to the us. Keeping terrorists alive simply gives them additional chances to hurt us.