Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The recommendation underscores that politicians should follow and act on issues, which are bolstered by majority of the members. Furthermore, the recommendation emphasizes that common ground subjects should be pursued instead of trying to achieve elusive ideals. Government is an amalgamation of disparate individuals, each with a unique perspective and agenda. Getting a common ground would enable to establish a holistic compendium view of the matter at hand and would lead to a better deeming on the consequences, positive impacts and validity of the agenda. However, history of human civilization, is rife with instances, where matters which do not garner, a lot of support and are detested, have been pursued by different political individuals, resulting in the revolution of the society. Therefore, a politician should pursue paradigms, if they deemed beneficial by common consensus, but should also pursue elusive ideas, which they think, would have a positive impact on the society.

Politicians are meant to serve the nation, state or city. Irrespective of the size of jurisdiction, politicians work along with multifarious individuals, ranging from officers to other politicians. Each individual, who forms a part of the decision-making community, has a diverse and unique background, resulting into a different perspective on the same matter. Taking the view point of various individuals, helps to develop a holistic view, thereby making the decision making process easier. Thereby, politicians could pursue such matters, with the collaboration of other members. Nevertheless, some times the envisioned paragon by a leader, is not always supported by the council or the authoritative bodies, due to bigoted mindset, fear of failure or personal gain. Thereby, the consensus over a particular issue, may never always be correct. If a political leader, deems a particular agenda as being beneficiary and has diligently studied the various impacts of the implementation of the policy, they can pursue the elusive ideal.

For example, in India, Arvind Kejriwal, the current Chief Minister of Delhi, was opposed by majority of the council, over the policy of diverting state funds for providing basic water drinking and sanitary water facilities to the different areas of Delhi. Delhi had been facing water cuts for the past decade, to solve this issue Arvind suggested the idea of increasing the amount of money spent of water distribution. Even after the resistance of the council of Delhi and getting minimal support, Arvind went ahead with his elusive policy. The result was that almost 98 percent of Delhi has proper water facilities available. If Kejriwal had not followed his policy, which was difficult to accomplish, Delhi would still have been burdened by tremendous water shortage.

Additionally, In China, during the 2008 Olympics, one of the leaders of the parliament in Beijing, suggested of making the Bird's nest stadium. Due to the stringent constraints on the budget and time, the idea was rejected by majority of the council members. Nevertheless, the leader tried to accomplish his goal and achieved it, without breaking any of the restrictions imposed on the project. It shows, that how fear had influenced the council to shun the development of a national level artifact. But, with a politician having faith in the project, was able to accomplish it.

In conclusion, The end judgment of pursuing of any agenda or policy, lies in the hand of the politician. People may have different views, which may be influenced by various factors, doesn't always mean it would guaranteed success. Elusive ideas are born out of the resolve to achieve something better and unique. If the politician deems the idea to be worthy of being pursued and implemented and with proper background analysis, the ideal should be implemented. To reiterate, any politician should pursue ideas both elusive or supported by majority, if they deem it worthy.