Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In a fully functional democracy, there are politicians making unrealistic promises just get elected or re-elected. They sounds like pompous, but for a public hungry for change they mistake it for plausible promises. It leads to unattainable expectation, which gives way to utter disapppointment. I agree with the statement in the question that politician should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus.

Come election days and we would be surrounded by high promises and speech full of quixotic optimism. Politicians seem to have cure for all problems and beseech the public to bring them to power, so that they could use their magic wand. Election days brings hope to public who are dissatisfied with present situation and they are hungry for sugar-coated words to solve their problems. Public tend to believe the politician's claim to have simple problem to a complex problem. One important and unfortunate thing is that these politicians know that they are all delievering empty promises. The public often believe those promises and elect them to power with high expectation. They would expect their newly elected leaders to take quick action and those action should bring quick result, which they were promised to have. For example, a politician try to leverage anti-corruption mood of public and promise the public to bring back black money from off-shore accounts. He is declared as a hero and elected to power and when he fails to deliever not because he didn't want to but it's impossible to solve the problem overnight. The public might question the credence of politician and it could lead to political unstability.

Economic growth is one of the key issue faced by numerous nations where inflation tend to eat up people's savings. Some politicians take advantage of such environment and declare that they have a plan to fix the economy and provide job to all. The popularity of that politician would go up and the first thing he might do after coming to power is to take loan from international organisation like IMF or another country like China. These loans could cripple the economy, if they are not paid ,antithetical to the intended result. The nation might need to introduce austerity and make some cuts in healthcare or education. This has happened to some countries like Greece and many countried would face such problem in future.

Leaders should be pragmatic when makinf vision for their constituency. They should not aim for making high-tech Maglev train network when the existing railways is in dilapidated shape. The decisions should be made step by step without skipping a single step. However, politicians should not stop making bold promised which is attainable and diffficult. If such promised are fulfilled, it would be for greater good for the nation. For example, in an closed stagnant economy, a politician could promise to open the economy to make the domestic industries competitive (rather than complacent) and provide a much needed investment by foreign investors.

Democracy is for the people, by the people and of the people. Politicians should not make mockery of this institution by deliberately misguiding voters to garner their support. They do need to take bold steps to resuscitate economy or to maintain law and order, but making unrealistic promises should be refrained.