People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans being's attitude towards himself/herself and towards other depends on immediate surrounding, rather than by whole society. We are social living organism but we do not have the ability to have deep interaction with the society.

We interact with numerous people daily- with our colleagues, neighbors, friends, spouse, but we have deep level of interaction only with few people. For example, a person might talk to his colleague mostly about work projects and often they are formal. On other hand, he might be more open to his friends and family members and it is expected that these people are more likely to shape his/her personality and attitude. In order to influence someone attitude, it requires exchange of ideas which takes place in informal environment like home or party with people close to circle of trust.

Secondly, we spend most of quality time with few people which includes spouse, parents, siblings. Anything taking place at home would certainly affect the attitude of the person. For example, a child brought up in broken home where his parents constantly fight, is likely to be socially aloof. Even though the society is prospering economically and is placed high in global happiness index. This can happen in countries like Norway, which are considered happiest nation to live as well as in developing country like India (placed lower in rank of happpiness index).

Thirdly, we live in a society in which each person is different from one another. Each one of them have differrent experience in life, which have altered their course in life. Inspite of living in same society we are surrounded by different personalities and different attitude. This is because each one of them had different immediate social environment. Some of them are optimistic, others are pessimistic. Some are confident, others are timid and diffident. One can remember this diversity in college or school, where one can find every personality in the same room.

However, in cases like war or famine, the attitude is determined by society as a whole rather than by immediate situations. People experience stress, depression and apathy which alters their personality for life. For example, younger generation of Syrian war survivors are unlikely to forget the suffering they experienced and it could make them socially stulted while interacting with foreigners or outside their community. In their experience, the people from other communities are responsible for loss of friends and might have issue trusting any other social group in future.

The fact that each of us have dfferent personality and possess different attitude towards others and ourselves is testament to the fact that attitude is depends on immediate situation and surroundings. Only in extreme situations, something that happens to society affect the person's personality, otherwise immediate people and environment plays an important role in person's psychology face.